CSM Track Teams Close Out Regular Season at Home

In what would be the final tuneup before the conference championships, the Colorado School of Mines Track team finished off the regular season in style. With eight provisionals, Mines made the most of their home meet, the Joe Davies Open.

In the men’s 800, freshman Patrick Weaver qualified for nationals by winning the race and recording the second fastest time in DII this season with a time of 1:52.08; Junior Garrett Hoch provisionaled with a time of 1:54.06 to finish third. In the men’s 400, junior Ian Rozier provisionaled with a time of 50.03 to take first place in the event. With the fifth fastest 4×400 relay time in nation this year, the Oredigger team of Rozier, Weaver, Hoch, and sophomore Austin Shaffer placed first with a time of 3:17.43. In the 3000m, Mines placed first and second with sophomore Marty Andrie recording a provisional with a time of 8:36.48 and senior Sean Gildea coming in with a time of 8:57.83.

In the Triple Jump, junior Michelle Rigsby recorded a provisional with a fourth place jump of 37-7.75 (11.47m), she placed sixth in the long jump. Two more provisionals were recorded in the men’s weight throw with senior Ryan Ewan and sophomore Jacob Hollister throwing 56-6.5 (17.236m) and 56-1 (17.09m) respectively; Austin Roup placed fifth in the event (14.80m). In the mile, senior Frank Socha placed third with a time of 4:27.82, and sophomore Drew Kerschieter finished fourth (4:28.10); Ann Miller (sophomore) and junior Kirsten Farquhar placed fourth and seventh respectively in the women’s mile. In the women’s high jump, Amanda Giles and Amber Harley finished third and fourth, while Seun Ogunmodede won the men’s event, while competing unattached, with a jump of 7.00m. In the men’s triple jump, Marc Leachman and Kento Okamato placed third and fourth.

Both men’s and women’s teams head to Adams State in Alamosa next week for the RMAC Indoor Track Championships.

Copyright © 2020 The Oredigger Newspaper. All Rights Reserved.