ETA Recognized for Diversity Efforts

Equality Through Awareness, ETA, is an on-campus club devoted to promoting diversity and inclusion at CSM and in the community.

“ETA is a wonderful way to build and nourish an inclusive community and facilitate discussion about important topics,” ETA officer Izzy Aguiar said.

The club began as an association devoted to women in physics but has grown to encompass much more. ETA now focuses on providing a space for open discussions and facilitating discussions about social justice and equality in engineering.

The club hosts “TED and Treats” every Wednesday at 4pm in AH 230 to watch a brief TED Talk or listen to a podcast about modern issues. The remainder of the hour is spent in a freeform discussion.

“[The purpose] is to challenge ourselves and challenge each other,” ETA president Hannah Grover expressed.

Snacks are provided, and club attendees arrange their desks in a circle to facilitate open discussion. There is no hand-raising, just friends and colleagues speaking openly about their thoughts and experiences both at CSM and elsewhere.

“ETA is a great way to integrate the sciences and humanities to foster the education of well-rounded engineers,” remarked ETA officer JoJo Clark.

On Martin Luther King Jr. Day, ETA was one of the recipients of the MLK Recognition Award, an award given to those on campus who are actively working to promote diversity at CSM.

“We were incredibly honored and proud to be recognized by the Mines community for the work we do in encouraging diversity and continuing conversations about social justice topics,” Jacquie Feuerborn, an ETA officer, said.

Students can stop by one of the club meetings in AH 230 on Wednesdays at 4:00pm. The club is always looking for new members with any views or opinions. As the goal of ETA is to discuss different ideas, club members always love hearing new ideas.

'ETA Recognized for Diversity Efforts' has no comments

Be the first to comment this post!

Would you like to share your thoughts?

Your email address will not be published.

Copyright © 2020 The Oredigger Newspaper. All Rights Reserved.