Summer Music Update

by Jade Glaister

Fall behind on new music over the summer? Don’t worry, we’ve got you covered! From Olivia Rodrigo’s record-breaking debut album in May to Imagine Dragons’ recent release of their fifth album, it’s been an exciting summer for music lovers. As artists blew us out of the water with incredible albums and singles, we got new songs to dance, cry, and contemplate the meaning of life to.

There have been a plethora of albums released over these past few months, including many debut albums! Olivia Rodrigo absolutely swept the floor with her debut album, “Sour,” as it topped the charts and left millions of listeners heartbroken. Aaron Dessner from The National and Justin Vernon from Bon Iver joined forces to form Big Red Machine and put out the exceptional album “How Long Do You Think It’s Gonna Last?” which featured many talented artists, including Taylor Swift. Lastly, Maisie Peters, after many great singles, finally released her first album, “You Signed Up For This.” Along with these, other artists created albums and eps that held the standards of their past albums. “Solar Power” by Lorde demonstrated a peaceful new era of her life, “Happier Than Ever” by Billie Eilish stirred up many emotions, and “Good Dog, Bad Dream” by Hippo Campus included many bops. Other fantastic albums released over the summer were “CALL ME IF YOU GET LOST” by Tyler the Creator, “Take the Sadness Out of Saturday Night” by Bleachers, “The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack” by Saint Motel, “Fallen Embers” by Illenium, “Sunflower” by Briston Maroney, and “Mercury – Act I” by Imagine Dragons.

Along with these spectacular albums, various artists have released amazing songs over these past few months. For a quick rundown of some of my favorites from the summer: “I GUESS I’M IN LOVE” by Clinton Kane, “HONEST” by Jeremy Zucker, “Edamame” by bbno$ featuring Rich Brian, “Nineteen” by Dylan, “Another Try” by The Happy Fits, “Avalanche” by James Arthur, “Migraine” by Smallpools, “People Watching” by Conan Gray, “A Concert Six Months from Now” by FINNEAS, “Animal” by Noah Kahan, “Rumors” by Lizzo featuring Cardi B, “Lights On” by Colony House, “Summerland” by Half Alive, “Missing Piece” by Vance Joy, “Bad Habits” by Ed Sheeran, and “Don’t Shut Me Down” by ABBA. 

Copyright © 2020 The Oredigger Newspaper. All Rights Reserved.